The Knowledge Academy Logo
The Knowledge Academy Logo
01344 203999 - Available 24/7

Send us your message.


TOGAF® Framework

TOGAF® offers organisations a variety of tools to enhance their business operations through altering an Enterprise’s Architecture, including:


What is TOGAF® ADM?

  • The Architectural Development Method (ADM) - the ADM is a sequential 8 phase step-by-step process that guides Enterprise Architecture transformational change to enhance capability. The eight phases include:

    • Architecture Vision - a clear statement of intent and justification of the architectural work to be conducted. Business Architecture - a plan of architectural intent, describing how the business will achieve the architectural vision and objectives

    • Information Systems Architecture - create an architectural ‘blue-print’ to discover the limitations of the current data information systems. Information and data system analysis utilises entity relationships and class diagrams to see the functionality of the current methods

    • Technology Architecture - create an architectural ‘blue-print’ to discover the limitations of the current technology applications and detail what improvements could be made to improve interoperability. Application Architecture utilises more software dependent methods, including application communication diagrams and software engineering diagrams, to assess the operational optimsation of technology and the logical interactions.

    • Opportunities and Solutions - within this phase a full architectural roadmap is created to develop a comprehensive plan of how to ameliorate an IT architecture, and the operational potential is calculated

    • Migration Planning - this phase concerns the finalisation of the new architectural framework, with a full appreciation for business development, and the application and technological structures that are required to support such transformational change. Here, you must engage the stakeholders to make them fully understand the value of the architectural change to the business and the cost of the business changes

    • Implementation Governance - the new Enterprise Architecture is implemented and requires intensive management throughout its inception to ensure that it is adhering to the architectural roadmap

    • Architecture Change Management - here the architecture’s operations are assessed in accordance with the business’s objectives - monitoring the success and value of the project. Flexibility is required to respond to any technical issues arising from the changes to the information system’s architecture, this may require following the eight step ADM process again.


  • The Enterprise Continuum (a theoretical base) - this aids communication and understanding of a business’s architecture through utilising common language and a singular theory that can be adapted to be organisation-specific. This consists of:

    • Architecture Continuum - Foundation, Common Systems, Industry, and Organisation Architectures

    • Solutions Continuum - Products and Services, Systems, Industry, and Organisation Solutions


  • Technical Reference Model (TRM) - a detailed model that covers architectural constituents and a graphical representation of the interactions between communication, infrastructure, qualities and business applications

  • Standards Information Base (SIB) - a list of standards and tools presented by The Open Group in accordance with TOGAF® training principles