The Knowledge Academy Logo
01344 203999
  24 Hours Monday - Friday
Empty
X

Send us your message.
We'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Please enter Name Please enter valid Email Please enter valid Phone number
Programming & Database

Introduction To SQL

Summary

Duration: 1 Days Location(s): 90 in UK Delivery: Classroom Price from:

Page Menu

Introduction to SQL Outline

This Introduction to SQL training course explores the following modules: 

 

Module 1: Introducing SQL

  • Overview of Relational Databases

  • Relational Database Elements

  • Interface Familiarity

  • The Role of SQL

  • SQL in Context

  • Running SQL Queries

 

Module 2: Writing SQL Statements

  • Selecting Data

  • Selecting Tables and Columns

  • The SELECT Statement

  • Practicing Queries

 

Module 3: Limiting and Organising Data

  • Restricting Data

  • The WHERE Provision

  • Sorting Query Output

 

Module 4: More Advanced SQL Statements

  • SQL Functions

  • Text String, Number, and Date Functions

  • Using Aliases

  • Working with CONVERT to Modify Data Presentation

  • Performing Calculations in Queries

 

Module 5: SQL Syntax

  • Using SQL Statements to Modify a Database

  • Working with INSERT to Create New Entries

  • Using UPDATE to Edit Existing Entries

  • Working with DELETE to Delete Entries

  • Introducing SQL Transactions

  • Rollback Commands

 

Module 6: More Advanced Querying

  • Consolidating Data

  • Aggregate Functions

  • Using COUNT to Display Results

  • HAVING Concept

 

Module 7: Looking at Dates

  • Functions of Dates

  • DateADD

  • DateDIFF

  • GetDate


About this course

Introduction to SQL Overview

SQL (Structured Query Language) is the most popular database language in the world. It is used widely by a variety of database systems to create queries and manipulate data. Therefore, SQL certified individuals are very much valued for their extensive knowledge and skill. SQL is generic, thus is compatible with the majority of database systems, which explains its widespread use, prominence, and the need for training in this crucial area.

 

During this SQL training course, delegates will be introduced to the fundamentals of SQL, and will gain an insight into the essentials of relational databases. As this is a one day course, delegates will swiftly acquire an understanding of vital querying language concepts, and will emerge from this course as well-informed individuals who are able to implement their knowledge immediately within their own organisation.

 

Throughout this training course, delegates will engage in tasks and exercises to ensure that they become familiar with the basic features of SQL in practical terms. On course completion, delegates will be able to comfortably use SQL. Attendees will not be experts (if this is desired, see our Advanced SQL training course), but will be able to use SQL to conduct daily tasks and queries. Most importantly, delegates will be able to use SQL to select, organise, insert, delete, and review data within a database. They will also possess an understanding of some advanced SQL statements and will be familiar with the main functions of SQL such as conversions, SQL syntax, and dates.


Who is this course for?

This training course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about SQL language and databases.

 

Prerequisites

There are no formal prerequisites - this course is open to individuals looking to develop their knowledge of Structured Query Language. Some experience of using Windows and relational databases would be useful, but is not compulsory.


Delegates are not required to take an examination for this Introduction to SQL Training course.

Find dates & prices for Introduction to SQL

Edinburgh
Fri 20th Oct 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Birmingham
Fri 10th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£795
£495
London
Fri 17th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day 3 places left
£495
£395
Aberdeen
Fri 17th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Reading
Sat 25th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Brighton
Sat 25th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Belfast
Sat 25th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Maidstone
Sat 25th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cambridge
Sat 25th Nov 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Milton Keynes
Fri 1st Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Bristol
Fri 1st Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Leeds
Fri 1st Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Sheffield
Fri 1st Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cardiff
Fri 1st Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 8th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£795
£495
Newcastle
Fri 8th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Dublin
Fri 8th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
€1695
London
Fri 15th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day 3 places left
£495
£395
Birmingham
Fri 15th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£795
£495
Glasgow
Fri 15th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Southampton
Fri 15th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£995
Norwich
Fri 15th Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Liverpool
Fri 22nd Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Nottingham
Fri 22nd Dec 17
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Southampton
Tue 2nd Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Norwich
Tue 2nd Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Dublin
Tue 2nd Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
€1695
London
Fri 5th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Leeds
Fri 5th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Aberdeen
Fri 5th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Bristol
Fri 12th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Liverpool
Fri 12th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cambridge
Fri 12th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 19th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Cardiff
Fri 19th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 26th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Edinburgh
Fri 26th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Nottingham
Fri 26th Jan 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 2nd Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Glasgow
Fri 2nd Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
London
Fri 9th Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Newcastle
Fri 16th Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Maidstone
Fri 16th Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 23rd Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Milton Keynes
Fri 23rd Feb 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
London
Fri 9th Mar 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Birmingham
Fri 16th Mar 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Manchester
Fri 23rd Mar 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Reading
Fri 23rd Mar 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Brighton
Fri 23rd Mar 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Wed 4th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Glasgow
Wed 4th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Dublin
Wed 4th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
€1695
Birmingham
Fri 6th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Aberdeen
Fri 6th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Belfast
Fri 6th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Bristol
Fri 13th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Sheffield
Fri 13th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 20th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Newcastle
Fri 20th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Maidstone
Fri 20th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Milton Keynes
Fri 27th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Southampton
Fri 27th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Norwich
Fri 27th Apr 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Tue 1st May 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Edinburgh
Tue 1st May 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Bristol
Tue 1st May 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Liverpool
Fri 11th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Nottingham
Fri 11th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cardiff
Fri 11th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Leeds
Fri 18th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Cambridge
Fri 18th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 25th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Brighton
Fri 25th May 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 8th Jun 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Belfast
Fri 15th Jun 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Aberdeen
Fri 22nd Jun 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 29th Jun 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Brighton
Tue 3rd Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Norwich
Tue 3rd Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Dublin
Fri 6th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
€1695
London
Fri 13th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Reading
Fri 13th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Cambridge
Fri 20th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 27th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Glasgow
Fri 27th Jul 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Birmingham
Fri 10th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Sheffield
Fri 10th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 17th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Newcastle
Fri 17th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Manchester
Fri 24th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Southampton
Fri 24th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Edinburgh
Fri 24th Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Birmingham
Fri 31st Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Maidstone
Fri 31st Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Belfast
Fri 31st Aug 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Nottingham
Fri 7th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 14th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Cardiff
Fri 14th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Liverpool
Fri 14th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Milton Keynes
Fri 21st Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Leeds
Fri 21st Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Manchester
Fri 28th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Reading
Fri 28th Sep 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Manchester
Tue 2nd Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Aberdeen
Tue 2nd Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 5th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Bristol
Fri 12th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Sheffield
Fri 12th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 19th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Birmingham
Fri 26th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Southampton
Fri 26th Oct 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Maidstone
Fri 9th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Dublin
Fri 9th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
€1695
London
Fri 16th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Glasgow
Fri 16th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Manchester
Fri 23rd Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Reading
Fri 23rd Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Brighton
Fri 23rd Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 30th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Edinburgh
Fri 30th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Leeds
Fri 30th Nov 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Birmingham
Fri 7th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Belfast
Fri 7th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Liverpool
Fri 7th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Manchester
Fri 14th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Nottingham
Fri 14th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cambridge
Fri 14th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Birmingham
Fri 21st Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£795
Newcastle
Fri 21st Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Milton Keynes
Fri 21st Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£995
Norwich
Fri 21st Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
London
Fri 28th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£495
Sheffield
Fri 28th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695
Cardiff
Fri 28th Dec 18
Classroom 1 day
£1695

Why train with us?

Best Price in the Industry

We have the guaranteed best price for our courses in the industry

Trusted & Approved

Resources Included

Resources are included for a comprehensive learning experience

Various Delivery Methods

Flexible delivery methods are available depending on your learning style

Introduction to SQL FAQs

SQL (Structured Query Language) is the world’s most widely used database language, used by a large variety of database systems for creating queries and manipulating data.
Along with 1 day of training with an experienced instructor, all delegates will be provided with a course manual and refreshments.
Our experienced trainers are always prepared to answer any questions you might have and they are available throughout the course to support you and your learning.
Please arrive at the venue for 8.45am.

Some of our clients

Google Logo HSBC Logo Ford Logo Bank Of America Logo Samsung Logo

Looking for more?

Trustpilot