The Knowledge Academy Logo
The Knowledge Academy Logo
01344 203999 - Available 24/7

Send us your message.

X

UNIX Fundamentals

Key points about this course


Duration: 2 Days*

Rating: Excellent

Language: English

Dates & Prices Enquire
  • UNIX is a multitasking, multi-user computer operating system.
  • We are the largest provider of IT Technical training globally.
  • Develop your UNIX operating system knowledge.

Available delivery methods for this course

Classroom Icon

Classroom

Virtual Icon

Live Virtual

Online Icon

Online

Onsite Icon

Onsite

Course Information

UNIX Fundamentals Course Overview

This two-day UNIX Fundamentals course teaches delegates the main concepts of the UNIX Operating System, to ensure that they are proficient users and able to troubleshoot OS issues. This UNIX Operating System training course gives delegates a comprehensive introduction to the main underpinning concepts of a UNIX Operating System, in addition to the most commonly used UNIX commands and utilities, including Command-Line Wildcard and redirection facilities.

Due to UNIX'S adaptability, this UNIX Training course is designed to give delegates an overview of the various UNIX versions that are available. Hence, this UNIX Training course simplifies the underpinning concepts to ensure that all staff, of all levels, are able to utilise and appreciate UNIX. After undertaking this UNIX Course, individuals will have an appreciation and knowledge of creating, duplicating, renaming, adapting, moving and deleting files and directories, using the UNIX'S redirection and pipe facilities. Additionally, our engaging trainers will help delegates learn how to use the VI Editor to edit text files. 

This UNIX course educates individuals how to use UNIX to promote logical business decisions and successfully implement UNIX systems to enhance operational efficiency.

UNIX Fundamentals Course Outline

This interactive UNIX Fundamentals training course develops a delegate's ability to interact and engage with UNIX Operating Systems. 

The following subjects will be taught during this course, lead by our engaging instructor:

What is UNIX?

  • Why Choose UNIX?
  • Introduction to the UNIX operating system
  • Customising UNIX

Interacting with UNIX

  • Basic commands
  • Redirection and pipes
  • Introduction to the VI editor
  • Searching and replacing text
  • Recalling and editing commands

UNIX Files

  • File permissions and access control
  • UNIX Processes
  • The UNIX User Interface
  • Setting and changing access permissions on files

Prerequisites

There are no formal pre-requisites for the UNIX Fundamentals course, although an understanding of and exposure to IT is advantageous.

Who Should Attend this UNIX Training Course?

This UNIX training course is designed for anyone that needs to understand and use a UNIX Operating System.

UNIX is a rapidly-developing multitasking computer operating system
There are no formal pre-requisites for the UNIX Introduction course, although an understanding of and exposure to information technology is advantageous.
This course is designed for anyone who needs to understand and use the UNIX Operating System.
The Knowledge Academy Courseware Book Manual Certificate Experienced Instructor Refreshments
This course is 2 days
Our instructors have over 10 years of experience
Typical training starts from 9am and finishes around 5pm
Please arrive at the venue for 08:45am

What's included in this UNIX Training Course?

  • Delegate pack consisting of course notes and exercises
  • Manual
  • Experienced Instructor
  • Refreshments

Key points about this course


Duration: 2 Days*

Rating: Excellent

Language: English

Dates & Prices Enquire

Upcoming classes

Dates & Prices

Select your preferred delivery method

Choose a Region

Choose a Location

Choose a Month

Office Icon Attend your course from the office or home
Trainers Icon Interactive support from experienced trainers
Simple Icon Simple to setup and easy to use on any device
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 25th Jul 2019
Places available
£1795
London
Thu 25th Jul 2019
Places available
£1795
Bristol
Thu 1st Aug 2019
Places available
£1995
Newcastle
Thu 1st Aug 2019
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 8th Aug 2019
Places available
£1795
London
Thu 15th Aug 2019
Places available
£1795
Milton Keynes
Thu 22nd Aug 2019
Places available
£1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 29th Aug 2019
Places available
£1795
Birmingham
Thu 29th Aug 2019
Places available
£1795
Southampton
Thu 5th Sep 2019
Places available
£1995
Glasgow
Thu 5th Sep 2019
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 12th Sep 2019
Places available
£1795
Birmingham
Thu 19th Sep 2019
Places available
£1795
Nottingham
Thu 19th Sep 2019
Places available
£1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 26th Sep 2019
Places available
£1795
Sheffield
Thu 26th Sep 2019
Places available
£1995
Leeds
Thu 26th Sep 2019
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 3rd Oct 2019
Places available
£1795
Norwich
Thu 3rd Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 10th Oct 2019
Places available
£1795
Cardiff
Thu 10th Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 17th Oct 2019
Places available
£1795
Liverpool
Thu 17th Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
Cambridge
Thu 24th Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
Aberdeen
Thu 24th Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 31st Oct 2019
Places available
£1795
Reading
Thu 31st Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
Newcastle
Thu 31st Oct 2019
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 7th Nov 2019
Places available
£1795
Maidstone
Thu 7th Nov 2019
Places available
£1995
Brighton
Thu 14th Nov 2019
Places available
£1995
Bristol
Thu 14th Nov 2019
Places available
£1995
Dublin
Thu 21st Nov 2019
Places available
€1995
Edinburgh
Thu 21st Nov 2019
Places available
£1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 28th Nov 2019
Places available
£1795
Manchester
Thu 28th Nov 2019
Places available
£1795
Belfast
Thu 28th Nov 2019
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 5th Dec 2019
Places available
£1795
Milton Keynes
Thu 5th Dec 2019
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 12th Dec 2019
Places available
£1795
Glasgow
Thu 12th Dec 2019
Places available
£1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Thu 19th Dec 2019
Places available
£1795
Leeds
Thu 19th Dec 2019
Places available
£1995
Reading
Thu 19th Dec 2019
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 2nd Jan 2020
Places available
£1795
Maidstone
Thu 2nd Jan 2020
Places available
£1995
Brighton
Thu 9th Jan 2020
Places available
£1995
Norwich
Thu 9th Jan 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 16th Jan 2020
Places available
£1795
Dublin
Thu 16th Jan 2020
Places available
€1995
Glasgow
Thu 23rd Jan 2020
Places available
£1995
Nottingham
Thu 23rd Jan 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 30th Jan 2020
Places available
£1795
Newcastle
Thu 6th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
Sheffield
Thu 6th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
Leeds
Thu 13th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
Cambridge
Thu 13th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 20th Feb 2020
Places available
£1795
Aberdeen
Thu 20th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
Milton Keynes
Thu 27th Feb 2020
Places available
£1995
Reading
Thu 5th Mar 2020
Places available
£1995
Southampton
Thu 12th Mar 2020
Places available
£1995
Cardiff
Thu 12th Mar 2020
Places available
£1995
Bristol
Thu 19th Mar 2020
Places available
£1995
Edinburgh
Thu 26th Mar 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 2nd Apr 2020
Places available
£1795
Belfast
Thu 2nd Apr 2020
Places available
£1995
Liverpool
Thu 16th Apr 2020
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 23rd Apr 2020
Places available
£1795
London
Thu 30th Apr 2020
Places available
£1795
Reading
Thu 7th May 2020
Places available
£1995
Dublin
Thu 7th May 2020
Places available
€1995
Glasgow
Thu 14th May 2020
Places available
£1995
Leeds
Thu 21st May 2020
Places available
£1995
Aberdeen
Thu 21st May 2020
Places available
£1995
Sheffield
Thu 28th May 2020
Places available
£1995
Milton Keynes
Thu 28th May 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 4th Jun 2020
Places available
£1795
Maidstone
Thu 4th Jun 2020
Places available
£1995
Southampton
Thu 11th Jun 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 18th Jun 2020
Places available
£1795
Brighton
Thu 18th Jun 2020
Places available
£1995
Edinburgh
Thu 25th Jun 2020
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 2nd Jul 2020
Places available
£1795
Cambridge
Thu 2nd Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Newcastle
Thu 9th Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Bristol
Thu 16th Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Nottingham
Thu 16th Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Cardiff
Thu 23rd Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Glasgow
Thu 23rd Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 30th Jul 2020
Places available
£1795
Belfast
Thu 30th Jul 2020
Places available
£1995
Leeds
Thu 6th Aug 2020
Places available
£1995
Liverpool
Thu 6th Aug 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 13th Aug 2020
Places available
£1795
Norwich
Thu 13th Aug 2020
Places available
£1995
Dublin
Thu 20th Aug 2020
Places available
€1995
Reading
Thu 20th Aug 2020
Places available
£1995
Milton Keynes
Thu 27th Aug 2020
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 3rd Sep 2020
Places available
£1795
Aberdeen
Thu 3rd Sep 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 10th Sep 2020
Places available
£1795
Sheffield
Thu 10th Sep 2020
Places available
£1995
Edinburgh
Thu 17th Sep 2020
Places available
£1995
Maidstone
Thu 17th Sep 2020
Places available
£1995
Bristol
Thu 24th Sep 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 1st Oct 2020
Places available
£1795
Birmingham
Thu 8th Oct 2020
Places available
£1795
Brighton
Thu 8th Oct 2020
Places available
£1995
Newcastle
Thu 15th Oct 2020
Places available
£1995
Reading
Thu 22nd Oct 2020
Places available
£1995
Belfast
Thu 29th Oct 2020
Places available
£1995
Glasgow
Thu 29th Oct 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 5th Nov 2020
Places available
£1795
Cambridge
Thu 5th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Liverpool
Thu 12th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Milton Keynes
Thu 12th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Manchester
Thu 19th Nov 2020
Places available
£1795
Nottingham
Thu 19th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Leeds
Thu 26th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Southampton
Thu 26th Nov 2020
Places available
£1995
Cardiff
Thu 3rd Dec 2020
Places available
£1995
Bristol
Thu 3rd Dec 2020
Places available
£1995
Birmingham
Thu 10th Dec 2020
Places available
£1795
Edinburgh
Thu 10th Dec 2020
Places available
£1995
London
Thu 17th Dec 2020
Places available
£1795
Norwich
Thu 17th Dec 2020
Places available
£1995

Complete the steps below to receive a quote or more information

How will you be funding your training?

Self funding

Company funding

Not sure

Key points about this course


Duration: 2 Days*

Rating: Excellent

Language: English


Why choose TKA logo


Gold Tag

Best price in the industry

You won't find better value in the marketplace. If you do find a lower price, we will beat it.

Delivery Icon

Various delivery methods

Flexible delivery methods are available depending on your learning style.

Resource Icon

Resources

Resources are included for a comprehensive learning experience.

Thames Water Logo

"Really good course and well organised. Trainer was great with a sense of humour - his experience allowed a free flowing course, structured to help you gain as much information & relevant experience whilst helping prepare you for the exam"

Joshua Davies, Thames Water

Google Logo
Samsung Logo
Shell Logo

"...the trainer for this course was excellent. I would definitely recommend (and already have) this course to others."

Diane Gray, Shell