The Knowledge Academy Logo
The Knowledge Academy Logo
+61 1-800-150644 - Available 24/7

Send us your message.

X

Introduction To SQL - Australia

Key points about this course


Duration: 1 Days*

Support: 24/7

Dates & Prices Enquire
  • Hands-on Database Design, SQL Queries & Scripting.
  • Learn how to manage, maintain and export large databases.
  • No previous experience of SQL needed.

Available delivery methods for this course

Classroom Icon

Classroom

Virtual Icon

Live Virtual

Online Icon

Online

Onsite Icon

In-house

Course Information

Introduction to SQL Course Overview

SQL (Structured Query Language) is the most popular database language in the world. It is used widely by a variety of database systems to create queries and manipulate data. SQL is generic and compatible with the majority of database systems, which explains its widespread use and why SQL certified individuals are highly valued by businesses.

During this SQL training course, delegates will be introduced to the fundamentals of SQL and will gain an insight into the essentials of relational databases. As this is a 1-day course, delegates will quickly acquire an understanding of vital querying language concepts and will emerge from this course as well-informed individuals who are able to implement their knowledge immediately within their own organisation.

Throughout this training course, delegates will engage in tasks and exercises to ensure that they become familiar with the basic features of SQL in practical terms. On course completion, delegates will be able to comfortably use SQL to select, organise, insert, delete, and review data within a database. They will also understand some advanced SQL statements and be familiar with the main functions of SQL such as conversions, SQL syntax, and dates.

Attendees will not be experts (if this is desired, see our Advanced SQL training course), but will be able to use SQL to conduct daily tasks and queries.

Introduction to SQL Course Outline

This Introduction to SQL training course explores the following modules: 

SQL – An Overview

  • Relational Databases
  • Using SQL
  • Using Object Explorer
  • Hiding system objects

Creating databases

  • Designing databases
  • Primary keys
  • Indexing fields

Working with tables

  • Creating tables
  • Allowing nulls
  • Identity fields
  • Database diagrams
  • Designing database diagrams
  • Joining tables

Data Manipulation Language

  • SELECT, DISTINCT Operations
  • Functions
  • Ordering Data
  • Inserting, Updating & Deleting rows

Queries

  • Writing queries
  • Indentation and case
  • Setting criteria using WHERE
  • Wildcards
  • Setting criteria for dates
  • Dealing with nulls

Exporting

  • Results, text and grid options
  • Copying and pasting column headings
  • Exporting using SQL & the menu

Calculations

  • Calculated columns
  • Aliases
  • String functions and concatenation
  • Using GetDate
  • Converting dates
  • Useful date functions

Joins

  • Inner joins
  • Table aliases
  • Left and right outer joins
  • Cross joins
  • Full outer joins
  • Self joins

Aggregation and grouping

  • SUM, AVG, MIN, MAX
  • Counts
  • Grouping by fields
  • Using HAVING to filter results

Views

  • The view designer
  • Limitations of the designer
  • Scripting views

Who should this SQL Training Course?

This training course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about SQL language and databases.

Prerequisites

There are no formal prerequisites - this course is open to any individuals looking to develop their knowledge of Structured Query Language. Some experience of using Windows and relational databases would be useful, but is not compulsory.

SQL (Structured Query Language) is the world’s most widely used database language, used by a large variety of database systems for creating queries and manipulating data.
Along with 1 day of training with an experienced instructor, all delegates will be provided with a course manual and refreshments.
Our experienced trainers are always prepared to answer any questions you might have and they are available throughout the course to support you and your learning.
Please arrive at the venue for 8.45am.
The price for Introduction to SQL certification in Australia starts from $1295
The Knowledge Academy is the Leading global training provider in the world for Introduction to SQL.
Please see our SQL Training courses available in Australia

What's Included in this Introduction to SQL Course?

  • A Comprehensive SQL Course Folder 
  • Full Access to Training Slides and Trainer Notes
  • Certificate of Attendance 
  • 24/7 Support Before, During & After your Course
  • Refreshments Available Throughout the Day (Classroom Only)

What will you gain from this Introduction to SQL Course?

During this course you will:

  • Learn how read SQL 
  • Learn how to write queries
  • Learn how to work with tables and fields
  • Learn how to join multiple tables together in a query
  • Learn how to output data for analysis

Dates & Prices

Select your preferred delivery method

Choose a Region

Choose a Location

Choose a Month

Office Icon Attend your course from the office or home
Trainers Icon Interactive support from experienced trainers
Simple Icon Simple to setup and easy to use on any device
Sydney
Fri 23rd Aug 2019
Places available
$1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Fri 6th Sep 2019
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 6th Sep 2019
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 13th Sep 2019
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 20th Sep 2019
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 27th Sep 2019
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 11th Oct 2019
Places available
$1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Fri 18th Oct 2019
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 25th Oct 2019
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 1st Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 8th Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Fri 15th Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 15th Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 22nd Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 29th Nov 2019
Places available
$1995
VirtualLive Virtual
Fri 6th Dec 2019
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 6th Dec 2019
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 13th Dec 2019
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 20th Dec 2019
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 3rd Jan 2020
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 10th Jan 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 17th Jan 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 31st Jan 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 7th Feb 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 14th Feb 2020
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 13th Mar 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 20th Mar 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 27th Mar 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 3rd Apr 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 17th Apr 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 8th May 2020
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 15th May 2020
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 22nd May 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 29th May 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 5th Jun 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 12th Jun 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 10th Jul 2020
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 17th Jul 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 31st Jul 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 7th Aug 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 14th Aug 2020
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 4th Sep 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 11th Sep 2020
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 18th Sep 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 25th Sep 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 2nd Oct 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 9th Oct 2020
Places available
$1995
Canberra
Fri 13th Nov 2020
Places available
$1995
Sydney
Fri 20th Nov 2020
Places available
$1995
Perth
Fri 27th Nov 2020
Places available
$1995
Melbourne
Fri 4th Dec 2020
Places available
$1995
Brisbane
Fri 11th Dec 2020
Places available
$1995
Adelaide
Fri 18th Dec 2020
Places available
$1995

Complete the steps below to receive a quote or more information

How will you be funding your training?

Self funding

Company funding

Not sure

Key points about this course


Duration: 1 Days*

Support: 24/7


Why choose TKA logo


Gold Tag

Best price in the industry

You won't find better value in the marketplace. If you do find a lower price, we will beat it.

Delivery Icon

Various delivery methods

Flexible delivery methods are available depending on your learning style.

Resource Icon

Resources

Resources are included for a comprehensive learning experience.

Thames Water Logo

"Really good course and well organised. Trainer was great with a sense of humour - his experience allowed a free flowing course, structured to help you gain as much information & relevant experience whilst helping prepare you for the exam"

Joshua Davies, Thames Water

Google Logo
Samsung Logo
Shell Logo

"...the trainer for this course was excellent. I would definitely recommend (and already have) this course to others."

Diane Gray, Shell

  Looking for more information?