The Knowledge Academy Logo
The Knowledge Academy Logo
+61 1-800-150644 - Available 24/7

Send us your message.


Software Testing Methodologies



Functional Testing 

This involves testing applications against the business requirements and is broken down into four components:

  • Unit Testing - Testing of individual software modules/components that are composed of the system or application

  • Integration Testing - Testing the individual modules/components that have been successfully unit tested when integrated together to perform tasks (scenario testing)

  • System Testing - Testing the whole system for errors and software bugs

  • Acceptance Testing - Ensuring that all product or project requirements have been attained and that the customers and end users have tested the system to make sure it works and meets all expectations


Non-Functional Testing 

This involves testing applications against the non-functional requirements, such as defined technical qualities. There are four elements that make up non-functional testing:

  • Performance Testing - Testing how a system performs under the increasing load of both the number of users and data volumes

  • Secure Testing - Testing the software for confidentiality, authenticity, integrity, accessibility, and nonrepudiation

  • Usability Testing - Testing the usability of the software to an end-user. There are five components of usability that are all considered in this stage. These are: efficiency, learnability, satisfaction, memorability, and errors

  • Compatibility Testing - Testing that the application is compatible with all the hardware and software combinations, such as specific operating systems, web browsers, hardware platforms, and mobile devices etc.