ITIL® Methodology

ITIL methodologies for best practice can be arranged into five core materials. The intention of these guides is for companies to be able to deliver appropriate IT services while making sure business targets are being met.


These core publications create the ITIL Service Lifestyle courses. It begins with the recognition of customer needs and drivers of IT requirements, through to design and application of the service into operation and finally, the observing and development phase.


These publications are as followed:

  • ITIL Service Strategy

  • ITIL Service Design

  • ITIL Service Transition

  • ITIL Service Operation

  • ITIL Continual Service Improvement


Each of these five publications links together to form the entire ITIL IT Service Lifecycle, spanning from the beginning of the design of services to their implementation, and the improvement of subsequent versions. Within each of these stages is a number of subprocesses which provide recommendations of which activities should be a carried out and what should be measured to provide a successful outcome.


Service Strategy

Service Strategy, as its name suggests, focuses on constructing a strategy to meet customer needs. This is the stage at which an organisation must decide which services it will offer in order to meet business objectives. The main processes are:

  • Strategy Management for IT Services

  • Service Portfolio Management

  • Financial for IT Services

  • Demand Management

  • Business Relationship Management


Service Design

Service Design focuses on the design of new services and improvements to existing ones. The main processes of this stage are:

  • Design Coordination

  • Service Catalogue Management

  • Service Level Management

  • Risk Management

  • Capacity Management

  • Availability Management

  • IT Service Continuity Management

  • Information Security Management

  • Compliance Management

  • Architecture Management

  • Supplier Management


Service Transition

Service Transition focuses on the building and deploying of IT services and ensuring changes to existing services are carried out in a controlled way. This includes these processes:

  • Change Management

  • Change Evaluation

  • Project Management (Transition Planning and Support)

  • Application Development

  • Release and Deployment Management

  • Service Validation and Testing

  • Service Asset and Configuration Management

  • Knowledge Management


Service Operation

Service Operation focuses on IT service delivery, ensuring services are delivered effectively, on time and are available when needed with little or no downtime. The main processes of this stage are:

  • Event Management

  • Incident Management

  • Request Fulfilment

  • Access Management

  • Problem Management

  • IT Operations Control

  • Facilities Management

  • Application Management

  • Technical Management


Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Management looks at existing services from a quality management perspective to determine how processes can be improved by learning from past experiences. The main processes of this stage are:

  • Service Review

  • Process Evaluation

  • Definition of CSI Initiatives

  • Monitoring of CSI Initiatives



Special Discounts




Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go over your training requirements.



Press esc to close

close close

Back to course information

Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go overy your training requirements.

close close

Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go over your training requirements.