History of ITIL®

ITIL has its beginnings in a UK government department called the CCTA (Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency) in Britain in the 1980s. The UK government were finding that the standard of their IT services was not adequate, so the CCTA was tasked with creating a new framework to ensure efficiency and value in IT services for the government and public sector.


The result was the earliest form of ITIL, called GITIM (Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management). Although this lacked the service lifecycle-based structure of later ITIL iterations, it shared the same emphasis on supporting the delivery of services.


In 1989 the name was changed to ITIL and ITIL books began to be published, with the first being Service Level Management, Help Desk. As the use of ITIL began to spread across Europe, more books followed, and it made its way to the United States in 1996. Books for ITIL v2 began to be released in 2000, consolidating the number of volumes from 31 to 8. The third version of ITIL, v3, was released in 2007. This reduced the number of core volumes down to 5 which together form a lifecycle approach to service management. Another update was released in 2011 which, although not adding any new concepts, provided more detail and some new processes.


Here is a short list of milestones for the history of ITIL:

  • 1972: IBM started research on delivering a quality service called Information Systems Management Architecture.

  • 1980: IBM published Volume 1 of a book called “A Management System for the Information Business”.

  • 1988: GITMM was created and designed.

  • 1989: GITMM is renamed to ITIL

  • 1989: The first book was distributed called Service Level Management, with Help Desk, Contingency Planning and Change Management being released.

  • 1990: Other books were available which were called Problem Management, Configuration Management and Cost for IT services.

  • 1991: Software Control & Distribution were published.

  • 1992: Availability Management was printed

  • 1996: ITIL Service Manager Classes started to be delivered in the United States.

  • 2000: Service Support V2 was published

  • 2001: Service Delivery V2 was made available

  • 2002: Application Management, Planning to Implement IT Service Management and ICT Infrastructure were printed

  • 2003: Software Asset Management was distributed

  • 2004: Business Perspective: The IS View on Delivering Services to the Business was made available

  • 2006: ITIL Glossary V2 was issued

  • 2007: ITIL V3 five core books was published

  • 2011: The 2011 update was printed


The Knowledge Academy provides professional ITIL training courses on a global scale. The ITIL Certifications are provided in over 1000 locations on a global scale so that you can learn ITIL training in a location near you. Our training instructors have over 5 years of experience and will be able to help you with anything you need throughout the course. If you would like to find out any more information about our professional training courses, please contact us on 01344 203 999 or send us a message to [email protected]




Special Discounts




Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go over your training requirements.



Press esc to close

close close

Back to course information

Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go overy your training requirements.

close close

Thank you for your enquiry!

One of our training experts will be in touch shortly to go over your training requirements.