The Knowledge Academy Logo
The Knowledge Academy Logo
01344 203999 - Available 24/7

Remember: All of our classroom courses are available as live instructor-led training which you can attend from home.

Remember: All of our classroom courses are available as live instructor-led training which you can attend from home.

Send us your message.


Send us your message.


Our sales and enquiry team will get back to you as soon as possible

Please enter Name Please enter valid Email Please enter valid Phone number Please enter course

The information you provide shall be processed by The Knowledge Academy – a professional training company. Your data shall be used by a member of staff to contact you regarding your enquiry.

Please click here for privacy policy.

We cannot process your enquiry without contacting you, please tick to confirm you consent to us contacting you about your enquiry

History of ITIL®

ITIL has its beginnings in a UK government department called the CCTA (Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency) in Britain in the 1980s. The UK government were finding that the standard of their IT services was not adequate, so the CCTA was tasked with creating a new framework to ensure efficiency and value in IT services for the government and public sector.


The result was the earliest form of ITIL, called GITIM (Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management). Although this lacked the service lifecycle-based structure of later ITIL iterations, it shared the same emphasis on supporting the delivery of services.


In 1989 the name was changed to ITIL and ITIL books began to be published, with the first being Service Level Management, Help Desk. As the use of ITIL began to spread across Europe, more books followed, and it made its way to the United States in 1996. Books for ITIL v2 began to be released in 2000, consolidating the number of volumes from 31 to 8. The third version of ITIL, v3, was released in 2007. This reduced the number of core volumes down to 5 which together form a lifecycle approach to service management. Another update was released in 2011 which, although not adding any new concepts, provided more detail and some new processes.


Here is a short list of milestones for the history of ITIL:

  • 1972: IBM started research on delivering a quality service called Information Systems Management Architecture.

  • 1980: IBM published Volume 1 of a book called “A Management System for the Information Business”.

  • 1988: GITMM was created and designed.

  • 1989: GITMM is renamed to ITIL

  • 1989: The first book was distributed called Service Level Management, with Help Desk, Contingency Planning and Change Management being released.

  • 1990: Other books were available which were called Problem Management, Configuration Management and Cost for IT services.

  • 1991: Software Control & Distribution were published.

  • 1992: Availability Management was printed

  • 1996: ITIL Service Manager Classes started to be delivered in the United States.

  • 2000: Service Support V2 was published

  • 2001: Service Delivery V2 was made available

  • 2002: Application Management, Planning to Implement IT Service Management and ICT Infrastructure were printed

  • 2003: Software Asset Management was distributed

  • 2004: Business Perspective: The IS View on Delivering Services to the Business was made available

  • 2006: ITIL Glossary V2 was issued

  • 2007: ITIL V3 five core books was published

  • 2011: The 2011 update was printed


The Knowledge Academy provides professional ITIL training courses on a global scale. The ITIL Certifications are provided in over 1000 locations on a global scale so that you can learn ITIL training in a location near you. Our training instructors have over 5 years of experience and will be able to help you with anything you need throughout the course. If you would like to find out any more information about our professional training courses, please contact us on 01344 203 999 or send us a message to